Tianwa Yang plays Brahms

WSO Classics
April 21 – 22 | 8:00 pm

Tickets available at wso.ca, ticketmaster.ca or call the WSO box office at 204-949-3999.

Concerto – the word summons up virtuosity, mastery and melody delivered by a single instrument. Brahms’s Violin Concerto is just that, its messages elevated and inspired at the hands of master soloist Tianwa Yang. Then to Bartók, whose blazing Concerto for Orchestra gives each instrument of the orchestra a chance to shine.

Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major
Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra

Alexander Mickelthwate, conductor
Tianwa Yang, violin

Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra
Apr 21 | 10:30 am

Hungarian Bela Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra (1943) is just that, the spotlight shining on every section of the orchestra in stunning virtuoso displays.

Alexander Mickelthwate, conductor